Coming Home


I am writing from Massachusetts! The dog, the cat, and I drove up from Virginia on Tuesday.

For the past couple of years I have missed spring in my hometown, mostly because of my mother’s health. Last year, for example, she was sick pretty much nonstop from March until late June. So we stayed in Virginia. We did see Virginia daffodils, but somehow the daffodils of home are always sweeter and yellower.

This year I was determined to take in some of the spring sights and smells in New England. I knew I couldn’t travel north until after last Saturday since I had committed myself to singing in a fundraiser in Virginia.

This is SUPPOSED to be a glamorous photo of me singing. My brother had technical difficulties, however. Next time, we'll pack a better camera--and I'll try to put on more makeup and stand still occasionally while performing.

I hoped that at least some of the Massachusetts daffodils would wait for me. They did!

As I drove through New York into Massachusetts spring greeted me. Leaves were just unfurling onto trees. Forsythia popped out in yards. Daffodils gently nodded in the breeze. To cap it all, the sky was cloudy so the light was almost always filtered, making the colors on the ground appear miraculous.

When I got home I even found violets underfoot.

To tell you the truth, I have mixed feelings about all this spring beauty. Part of me is sad that my mother can’t enjoy it this year. Like me, she cherished the promise of spring’s light green leaves and lawns.

On the other hand, I am HUGELY enjoying my little cat’s reactions to the spring air, the car ride, and her home in Massachusetts.

The start of our journey wasn’t entirely promising. Miss Rhubarb had never been in the car for very long, and she got bored after about an hour and a half. She was also miffed that I was unwilling to let her climb on the dashboard. After lunch, she blessedly decided to lie down next to her dog and nap, which she did for most of the rest of the trip.

When she arrived in Hawley late Tuesday afternoon, she was mesmerized. She had never seen grass up close and immediately decided that it is one of her favorite things. As for the house … after life in an apartment it seems to hold unlimited promise. So many rooms to explore, so many windows to gaze out of, so many piles of things to knock over!

She spent all of Tuesday night and most of yesterday exploring. She would return to me from time to time for food or a session of purring; then she would resume her walkabout.

Last evening she finally found an afghan in which to curl up and rest. She finally slept … and stayed asleep until morning.

Today she is wide awake again, nibbling on the pot of rosemary in the living room and taking in the sunshine through the windows. She makes me smile pretty much nonstop—and I know she would make my mother smile.

Perching in between them mentally, I feel ready to celebrate the season. And I’m even more determined than ever to get lots of work done so that I can afford to keep my lovely home in the country!

Getting ready to sleep at last......

8 comments on “Coming Home

  1. jean says:

    Loved this entry. It made me smile. Thanks!

  2. Doris Matthews says:

    Oh, Tinky, that one is gonna be some trouble for sure-you can see it in her eyes! She is a beauty though. Keep on keepin’ on!

    • Pam Gerry says:

      HELLOOOOOO!!!! Welcome HOME!!!!! I got your message. I can’t wait to get together. Maybe this weekend??? Talk soon.XOXO

  3. Pat says:

    Life’s always an adventure to kittens. She’s a precious thing, Tinky. I bet Truffle keeps her calmer than she would be alone.

  4. Larry Fox says:

    Tinky,

    I imagine coming home to Hawley is both comforting and triggering of many emotions. It is good to spend time in the spaces we shared with the loved ones we have lost rather than run away from them. I admire your courage to make this journey and am here to help you through it in any way I can. Singing Brook Farm has many memories for all of us who were lucky enough to call it home in some way. You have made it more of a home than most of us who spent our summers there. I know your parents are with you in some way as you now experience it without them.

    Love,

    Larry

  5. Margie says:

    Enjoy being home, Tinky.

  6. Anne says:

    Have a wonderful time enjoying the spring!!

  7. tinkyweisblat says:

    Jean, I love making people smile. Doris and Pat, she is indeed a wild woman–and I can only hope Truffle is having a calming influence. Pam, Margie, and Anne, I’m enjoying myself a LOT. Larry, bless you; yes, I can feel them watching over me–and you, dear friends.

Leave a Reply

