Truth and Fact


Fact: I am not the Easter bunny. Truth: I might be.

I’m mulling over two clusters of information that have passed through my eyes and ears this week. One is a radio program; the other is a college sociology paper.

Both touch on a dilemma that has confronted humans, particularly writers, for centuries but seems to have intensified in the last century: the way in which truth and fact can sometimes diverge.

I was first presented with this dilemma formally when I was in journalism school. One of the most important goals of student journalists is the pursuit of objectivity. They are taught to gather the facts of a story and to relate them as accurately as possible. (The “gross factual error” is the bane of every journalism class and every newsroom.) Above all, they are taught that the journalist’s personal opinions and biases have no place in a news story.

Of course, even my journalism professors had lived in the human world long enough to admit that there is no such thing as absolute objectivity.

Relativity theory had proved that different people (or at any rate different worlds) can experience time and space, previously seen as absolute, in radically different ways. Quantum theory had proved that at the most basic level our universe is a matter of probability rather than fact—and that the act of observation can change, even define, the object being observed.

Nevertheless, we journalism students were taught to pursue objectivity as a goal and a standard, to get as close to it as we could.

Last week this priority was reiterated for journalists and consumers of journalism when the public-radio program This American Life spent an hour retracting one of its most popular episodes, “Mr. Daisey Goes to the Apple Factory.”

In January monologist Mike Daisey had appeared on the program with an excerpt from his popular one-man show The Agony and the Ecstasy of Steve Jobs. In this story Daisey talked about his experiences interviewing to Apple-computer workers in China. He discussed maimed workers, child laborers, and unsafe conditions.

In the retraction This American Life staff members revealed that further fact checking had exposed much of the information Daisey had shared as either second hand or untrue. Daisey was interviewed on the air and came across as half apologetic and half defensive.

Speaking of his stage production about Apple, Daisey told host Ira Glass, “I don’t know that I would say in a theatrical context that it isn’t true. I believe that when I perform it in a theatrical context in the theater that when people hear the story in those terms that we have different languages for what the truth means.”

I believe that Daisey was wrong here. Theatrical truth is different from factual truth only when the theater piece involved is qualified in some way—that is, when it is presented as fiction, or when it is “inspired by a true story” but doesn’t purport to tell that true story.

In his stage performance and in his This American Life appearance he stated that he witnessed Apple’s appalling factory conditions himself. He didn’t witness them–not all of them. He shouldn’t have said that he did.

And yet …. I know what he meant about truth.

To further muddy the waters for me, a couple of days ago a childhood friend who now teaches sociology at the University of Georgia sent me a paper one of her students had written about food blogs and bloggers. My food blog was one of the student’s references.

The student wrote about the “social construction of memory” involved in food blogging and quoted another reference in describing the virtual world of food blogging as a “me-centered network.”

According to this paper, when I write my food blog (and, by extension, this blog) I am constructing and re-constructing my past and present, placing my own ego front and center.

This doesn’t sound entirely flattering. To some extent it is an accurate characterization of what I do when I write, however, although I should add that for me this style of writing long predated my blogs. It has characterized much of my feature journalism and definitely characterizes my Pudding Hollow Cookbook.

It is also to some extent an accurate characterization of what most of us do when we tell stories about our lives.

My doctoral dissertation focused on three celebrity couples from the 1950s, George Burns and Gracie Allen, Lucille Ball and Desi Arnaz, and Ozzie Nelson and Harriet Hilliard Nelson.

One of my main discoveries about the couples was that in the final analysis their lives didn’t exist as some kind of objective truth outside their television programs and their interviews to the press. Their lives shaped and reacted to those programs and those interviews.

On a personal level we’re all familiar with the ways in which stories we tell about ourselves and our families change and develop. Over time they become less and less about a moment in the past and more and more about family legend.

I spent last year writing a blog about my mother’s final illness. I tried hard not to lie about the way either of us reacted to things. Nevertheless, I also tried to stress our moments of strength and happiness.

Somehow or other by stressing those moments I made them longer and more frequent. Little by little, in life as in the blog, they managed to completely outshine the moments in which we were weak and unhappy.

In the end saying that my mother and I were strong and happy became the absolute truth.

Unlike Mike Daisey, I won’t tell readers I did something or heard something when I didn’t. Nevertheless, like him and like my old friend’s student I do believe that when I write I am to some extent constructing myself, my world, and the truth.

All I can do is promise to keep the facts as straight as I can—and never to lose my awareness of the oddly elastic cord that binds them to the truth.

P.S. As au audio illustration for this post, my friend Paul suggested I include this clip of the wonderful Jerry Orbach singing “Promises, Promises”……….

7 comments on “Truth and Fact

  1. Chris says:

    I don’t know if you ever read A Yellow Raft in Blue Water by Michael Dorris (and un-credited but in fact also by Louise Erdrich). It’s one of the most powerful looks at the how the truth is filtered by the viewer/teller.

  2. Doris Matthews says:

    Isn’t everyone’s truths relevant to them? We writers should always stay true to ourselves. However, when the reader finds out that the writer has lied about things, all trust is broken (at least for me it is-does the name Frey ring a bell)? Chirs, I’m going to read A Yellow Raft in Blue Water next-thanks for the tip. Keep on keepin’ on!

  3. Jane says:

    Terrific blog/essay!

  4. David says:

    Terrific essay Tinky. I’ve always thought that facts are what is on the ground, but truth depends on what facts you pick up–and unless you get all of them, it won’t be complete.

    • tinkyweisblat says:

      Chris, I will look for it in the library!

      Doris, it’s true that actual lies do a writer in. (Ironically, Daisey had done a play aobut Frey in the past.)

      Jane, thank you.

      David, well put!

  5. BumbleVee says:

    … and then…. blogging is writing versus speaking…. and I cringe sometimes just thinking how much that can change the whole gist of a conversation or story… people read between the lines ..or only read half of what we actually say….and some of them only understand less than half of what they read.

    I always think how much more difficult it is to share a story when there is no intonation to hear, no facial expression or eyes to see… no body language at all…….

    Having gone through a year with my own Mom at the end of lung cancer….I tended to gloss over the unhappy or angry moments in favour of the fun things and there were many…. for my own sake as much as for the sake of my siblings and any others I told. Who wants to dwell on the unhappy or the parts of a situation that make us feel more guilt than we need in a situation that is already grossly unhappy…..

    I read between the lines in your story about your lovely Mom (and a few tears are creeping down my cheek just because I think of my own as I write) and absolutely knew there were unhappy moments that you both would be going through and could not bring yourself to make much of in the telling…. there were other more poignant and interesting portions to relate…. and I enjoyed those for sure….

    hugs, V.

Leave a Reply

